Charles A. Langlais Trophy

Charles A. Langlais Trophy

PCYA Staff Commodore Charles A. Langlais first won this trophy in 1926 sailing the R class boat, “Lady Gay,” in that year’s Championship Regatta of the Pacific Coast Yachting Association.

Mr. Langlais later rededicated it in 1976 to be awarded once in any calendar year to an individual for “exceptional, outstanding, and meritorious service to the sport of yachting.”

The 2019 Charles A. Langlais Trophy for exceptional service to the sport of yachting was awarded to Peter Patman, nominated by the Southern California  Yacht Association.

You can read more about the Langlais Trophy deed of gift and submission guidelines and the history of the “R” class boats (the latter written by St. Francis Yacht Club Historian, Robert C. Keefe). To see the trophy’s recipients, click here.

2018 PCYA Call for Nominations

Comments are closed.