The Barusch/Castagna Predicted Navigation Regatta

This event challenges the serious power-boater’s navigation skills in a competitive but friendly environment. Participants discover just how well they know their boat’s performance characteristics at various speeds and how well they can predict the time it will take to travel each leg of a course in a variety of marine conditions.

powerboats_newportbuoyPCYA awards two trophies at the conclusion of this annual event. The Harry Barusch Perpetual Trophy is awarded for the best performance by an individual, while the Joseph V. Castagna Perpetual Trophy is awarded to the individual yacht club with the best overall performance by its members.

The 2013 regatta took  place at Del Rey Y.C. and California Y.C., on June 27-29. The hosting associations were the Santa Monica Bay Power Fleet and the Southern California Cruisers Association. The regatta scores are listed below.

This difficult event lets participants join with other boaters in developing good piloting habits and navigation skills. At the same time, it brings people together with those who share their passion for the water.2013_Barusch_Castagna_Results